Rutherford County GOP Rep to Retire

State Rep. Rick Womick will retire after his two-year term ends in 2016, he said.

“First and foremost, I want to spend more time with my wife and my children,” the Republican lawmaker said during a Monday phone interview. “My parents are also getting older. I just need to be spending more time with my family. And, secondly, I need to step aside and let somebody else serve.”

Womick resides in Rutherford County’s Rockvale community southwest of Murfreesboro and has represented Tennessee House District 34 since winning the seat in 2010 to succeed former state Rep. Donna Rowland, a fellow Republican who retired that year.

Before winning his seat, Womick also served for two years as the chairman for the Rutherford County Republican Party.

“It’s time for me to step aside and let somebody else serve,” said Womick, who made news in 2015 by suggesting that Republican Gov. Bill Haslam be impeached for not challenging the U.S. Supreme Court’s 5-4 ruling that made same-sex marriage legal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

